IEEE Magnetics Society Summer School

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering hosted the 8th IEEE Magnetics Society summer school from June 14 to June 19. The summer school was led by Prof. Beth Stadler (chair), and Prof. Randall Victora (co-chair). The summer school is designed for graduate students who are members of the IEEE Magnetics Society and studying magnetism and related areas. Student attendees must go through a selection process that includes recommendations by their advisors and IEEE Magnetics members.

The 2015 school saw students from the US, Europe,Asia, Latin America and Australia. Opening on Sunday evening with a reception and dinner, it had a packed schedule of lectures punctuated by a Seagate sponsored excursion to the Wabasha Street Caves and a cruise on the Mississippi river. There were two poster sessions and four distinguished lectures over the six days, with prizes being awarded for the best posters.

Eric Severson

Eric Severson received the award for best paper of the session at the 2015 IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference (APEC) in Charlotte, NC. His paper is titled “Practical Implementation of Dual Purpose No Voltage Drives for Bearingless Motors”. (Prof. Ned Mohan, advisor)

Meisam Razaviyayn

ECE alumnus Meisam Razaviyayn (Ph.D. ‘14) was selected for the 2014 SPS Young Author Best Paper Award for his “On the Degrees of Freedom Achievable Through Interference Alignment in a MIMO Interference Channel”. Co-authors were Gennady Lyubeznik and ECE Prof. Zhi-Quan Luo who was also Meisam’s advisor.

Varsha Padhee

Varsha Padhee received the 2015 Thomas F. Ellerbe Scholarship. The award recognizes creativity in scientific thinking and research that can have a positive impact on the sustainability of the built environment. The scholarship is funded by the Minnesota Architectural Foundation (Prof. Ned Mohan, advisor).

Chao Liu

Chao Liu (far left) was awarded the Best Poster award at the Materials Research Society (MRS) 2015 Spring Meeting. Chao’s was one of four posters that had been selected out of 728 posters presented at the meeting. (Prof. Jeong-Hyun Cho, advisor).

ECE faculty receive three NSF Early Career Development awards

Congratulations to Prof. Arya Mazumdar (far left), Prof. Sairaj Dhople (center), and Prof. Jeong-Hyun Cho (near left) for being awarded the Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation. NSF grants this select award to junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of the University of Minnesota.