Prof. Rhonda Franklin and Prof. Chris Pennell (Medical School) receive IEM Abbott Professorships in Innovative Education

Prof. Rhonda Franklin is an inaugural recipient of the IEM Abbott Professorships in Innovative Education awarded by the Institute for Engineering in Medicine. She shares the award with Prof. Chris Pennell of the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology. 

The newly instituted Abbott Professorships will be awarded to the faculty co-directors of the IEM Inspire Program which aims to motivate students to pursue STEM careers in medicine and healthcare. 

Sharing her thoughts on the award, Prof. Franklin says, “The program’s aim is to connect students from diverse backgrounds to careers in engineering for medicine.  Dr. Chris Pennell and I are working together to develop a program that supports exposing and preparing students for careers in engineering with applications to biomedicine as well as medicine.”

Learn more about the Abbott Professorship and the goals of the inaugural recipients.