Prof. Keshab Parhi Honored as AAAS 2017 Fellow

Prof. Keshab Parhi has been named by the American Association for the Advancement of Science as an AAAS Fellow for his contributions to architectures and methodologies for VLSI design of digital signal processing systems and physical layer communication systems that form the backbone of the Internet. Election as a Fellow is bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. The Association  has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 396 of its members for 2017, honoring their contributions to science and technology, scientific leadership and extraordinary achievements across disciplines. The new AAAS Fellows will be recognized at the 2018 AAAS Annual Meeting in Austin, Texas in February 2018. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council from a list of approved nominees who have worked with distinction to advance science and its applications.

Prof. Parhi has made significant and long-lasting impacts through his seminal and pioneering research in the broad field of Very Large Scale Integrated (VLSI) design of digital signal processing, image processing and communications systems. His research is used in many integrated circuit chips for broadband communications systems that form the backbone of the internet. He is widely recognized for his pioneering work on pipelining and parallel processing of numerous recursive computations such as decision-feedback equalizers and Tomlinson-Harashima precoders using various look-ahead techniques. He developed the theory of folding and unfolding transformations for data-flow graphs that describe digital signal processing programs. He also authored the text book: VLSI Digital Signal Processing Systems (John Wiley and Sons, 1999). He is the author of over 600 papers and inventor or coinventor for 29 US patents.

Earlier, in May 2017, the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (CAS) awarded Prof. Parhi the Mac Van Valkenburg Award  for pioneering contributions to VLSI digital signal processing architectures, design methodologies, and their applications to wired and wireless communications, and service to IEEE Circuits and Systems Society. Previously Prof. Parhi was awarded the 2012 Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement award and a 2000 Golden Jubilee Medal from the IEEE CAS Society. He also received the 2003 Kiyo Tomiyasu Technical Field award from the IEEE and the 2004 Frederick Emmons Terman award from the American Society of Engineering Education.

Besides Prof. Parhi, three other University of Minnesota faculty have been honored as AAAS Fellows: Prof. David A. Bernlohr, Prof. Reuben S. Harris, and Prof. David J. Odde.