Prof. Beth Stadler Receives 2017 Taylor Award for Distinguished Service

Prof. Bethanie Stadler is a recipient of the 2017 Taylor Award for Distinguished Service. The award is in recognition of her services to the magnetics and materials research communities, and her service to the department, the University, and the surrounding community.

The George W. Taylor Awards are endowed within the College of Science and Engineering in memory of George W. Taylor, a 1934 graduate of the department of Mechanical Engineering. The Service award is for a faculty member who has performed exemplary service within the University as well as in a professional capacity to outside public or governmental organizations.

Stadler’s record of service has included leadership roles within ECE, professional societies such as IEEE Magnetics Society and Materials Research Society, science outreach to the surrounding community through science summer camps, and service contributions to the University in roles such as member of the Senate Research Committee, and the CSE Consultative Committee.

At the departmental level, Prof. Stadler has chaired or co-led several key committees including the Graduate Committee, the ECE Summer REU and RET Programs, the ECE Consultative Committee, and the ECE Faculty Recruiting Committee. She also served as the faculty mentor for Society of Women Engineers (SWE) from 2005 to 2015. Reaching beyond the department, she has worked energetically to engage school children in science. She has led week-long summer camps for 10 years, designed for children between the ages of 8 and 15 teaching them the basics of circuits theory. The camps are called Circuits are a Snap and Electric Ladies Week, with the latter being an all-girls camp. Other activities by Prof. Stadler include science demos at various venues, a nanotechnology open house attended by 450 students from across Minnesota, and the statewide Kick-Off for FIRST Technical Challenge.

As a scientist, engineer, and teacher, Prof. Stadler has contributed her expertise in multiple ways to the IEEE Magnetics Society and the Materials Research Society. She was invited to be a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE in 2015, an honor and a significant commitment of time as Distinguished Lecturers are required to give between 20 to 40 lectures over the course of a year. She accepted the role and gave 59 lectures in 15 countries including Romania, Russia, Turkey, and Saudi Arabia. Stemming from her lecture in Saudi Arabia, Prof. Stadler has received a grant from King Abdullah University of Science and Technology. As part of the grant project, she will be travelling to the country for research, and outreach to women students of science in colleges across Saudi Arabia.

Prof. Stadler’s invited lectures at the IEEE Magnetics Summer School in Chennai, India and Assissi in Italy were extremely well received. Impressed with the immense value of hosting such a school, she proposed and successfully won the bid to have the 2015 IEEE Magnetic Summer School hosted at the University of Minnesota. The feedback on the school was overwhelmingly positive. But Prof. Stadler extended her engagement with the summer school further by writing the first IEEE Magnetic Summer School handbook drawing on not only her own experience leading one, but also on the experiences of chairs of previous such schools. The handbook was used by the 2016 host, Tohoku University in Japan, and is being used by the 2017 host, Universidad Internacional Menéndez Pelayo in Spain.

As an engaged volunteer of the Materials Research Society, Prof. Stadler established and directed the Undergraduate Materials Research Initiative in the late 1990s. A successful program, it was designed to encourage undergraduates to submit proposals to receive funding for research and travel to MRS meetings. 40 grants were awarded every year by the MRS while the program was in effect. She has also served the MRS in a variety of leadership roles and as secretary of the society in 2008, she took on the task to update the volunteer manual. She currently serves on the Program Development Subcommittee (PDSC), and will serve as Chair of the PDSC starting 2018.

Stadler is also the recipient of the Outstanding Mentor Award for the President’s Distinguished Faculty Mentor Program for Underrepresented Students (2011, and 2013), and a University of Minnesota McKnight Presidential Fellow (2006 – 2009) among several other awards.

The George W. Taylor Award was established in 1982. Besides Stadler, other ECE professors who have received this award include Stephen Campbell, James Leger, Douglas Ernie, Larry Kinney, and K.S.P. Kumar.