Most Influential Paper Award

Sanjay V. Kumar (Ph.D. ’09), Prof. Chris H. Kim, and Prof. Sachin S. Sapatnekar have won the ACM/IEEE William J. McCalla Ten Year Retrospective Most Influential Paper Award for “An Analytical Model for Negative Bias Temperature Instability.” The paper develops a physics-based analytical model for a transistor aging mechanism called negative bias temperature instability, and shows how a simplified version of the model can be employed to analyze precisely how large digital circuits degrade as they age.

The award recognizes the most influential paper on research and industrial practice in CAD over ten years since its original appearance at the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design.