Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ECE Colloquium Series – Professor Srinivas Tadigadapa

April 6 @ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm

As part of the *Eleanore Hale Wilson Lecture Series, ECE is proud to present:

Microresonators for Sensing Applications

Professor Srinivas Tadigadapa
Pennsylvania State University
Hosts: Professor Joey Talghader and Professor Mo Li



The field of micro and nano sensors has rapidly evolved over the last couple of decades with many of the highest performance devices exploiting the phenomenon of resonance for sensing. Micro and nano scale designs, fabrication, and integration of new materials offer unique opportunities for innovative, novel, and robust sensor configurations. Examples of electromechanical, optical, and nanoscale resonator devices will be presented. Resonator based sensors including gyroscopes, temperature and infrared sensors, magnetic sensors, and chemical and biological sensors will be discussed. An overview of critical design considerations such as resonator geometry, the Q-factor, nonlinear behavior, and power consumption will be presented.


Srinivas Tadigadapa is a Professor of Electrical Engineering with a joint appoint in the department of Biomedical Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University since 2000. From 1996-2000 he was the Vice President of Manufacturing at Integrated Sensing Systems Inc., and was involved with the design, fabrication, packaging, reliability, and manufacturing of micromachined silicon pressure and Coriolis flow sensors. Dr. Tadigadapa’s primary research interest is in the interdisciplinary field of microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) and in the design, optimization, fabrication, and testing of MEMS transducers. Specifically his research focus is on fabrication of novel micro and nano-sensors and actuators by integrating non-traditional materials using silicon planar microfabrication techniques and exploring phenomenon at the micro-nano interfaces. Current projects include bulk micromachined piezoelectric resonators for biological sensing and IR detection, development of microfluidic systems for high pressure liquid chromatography and gas chromatography, nanoenergetic materials, development of magnetometers for brain monitoring applications, electronic and thermal transport studies in nanoscale materials and interfaces including graphene, and high performance calorimetric measurements. He has published over 150 peer reviewed papers in the field of MEMS and is the inventor on seven patents. He has been a research fellow at the University of Karlsruhe, Germany and a Visiting Professor at Otto von Guericke University, Magdeburg, Germany, and University College, Cork, Ireland. He was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt fellowship in Germany and the Walton fellowship by the Science Foundation of Ireland. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, the Institute of Physics, London, and a Life-Fellow of the Cambridge Philosophical Society. He is Chair of the Technical Program Committee for IEEE SENSORS 2015-2017 conferences. He is the founding editor of IEEE Sensors Letters and serves as Associate Editor of Journal of Microlithography, MEMS and MOEMS and Measurement Science and Technology.


*Established in 2009, the Eleanore Hale Wilson Fund supports engineering field leaders for travel to Minnesota to share their expertise and discoveries with University of Minnesota graduate students, faculty, and alumni. The fund also supports the receptions held in honor of each speaker.


April 6
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm


Keller Hall Annex 3-230
200 Union St SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455 United States
+ Google Map