Stephen Campbell


Research Area: MEMS, Nanotechnology, Photovoltaics

140 PAN (Physics and Nanotechnology Building)

Area of Expertise:

2D materials, MEMS, thin film photovoltaics

Faculty Affiliations:

Director of the Minnesota Nano Center


Ph.D., Physics, 1978, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, United States
M.S., Physics, 1978, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, United States
B.A., Physics, 1975, College of St. Thomas, St. Paul, MN, United States


Russell J. Penrose Professorship in Nanotechnology
Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Fellow 2007
College of Science and Industry (formerly Institute of Technology) Distinguished Professor 2006
George W. Taylor Award for Distinguished Teaching 2005
Presidential Young Investigator


In research, Professor Campbell is most well known for pioneering efforts in high permittivity (aka high-k) materials for the gate insulator in deeply scaled MOSFETs.  This revolution in transistor design has now been adopted by most of the leading edge integrated circuit manufacturers.  His other current interests include ultra high speed MEMS, where he has demonstrated sub-nanosecond mechanical switching, silicon nanoparticle devices where he is building transistors and quantum dot LEDs, and efficient thin film photovoltaics.  In the education area, Professor Campbell leads the University’s participation in Nano-Link, an NSF sponsored regional center for nanotechnology education at the AAS level.  He has designed and implemented a one-semester capstone experience.  Professor Campbell is the author of The Science and Technology of Microelectronic Fabrication, the most widely used textbook on microfabrication.  After more than a dozen printings, it is now in its third edition.  Professor Campbell’s teaching experience includes Microfabrication, Semiconductor Devices, Electromagnetic Fields, Analog Electronics, Linear Circuits, Circuits Lab, Senior Design, and Materials and Devices.  Professor Campbell serves as the Minnesota lead for the National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network (NNIN), a network established by NSF to support nanotechnology research.  He directs the University’s NanoFabrication Center ( and is the founding director of the University’s Center for Nanostructure Applications (


“Bulk and interface characterization and modeling of copper indium aluminum gallium selenide (CIAGS) solar cells”, MJ Sibakoti, S Karthikeyan, S Hwang, T Bontrager, and SA Campbell, Photovoltaics Specialists Conference (PVSC), 2016 IEEE 43rd (2016).

“Revealing the Origins of 3D Anisotropic Thermal Conductivities of Black Phosphorus”, J Zhu, H Park, JY Chen, X Gu, H Zhang, S Karthikeyan, N Wendel, SA Campbell, M Dawber, X Du, M Li, JP Wang, R Yang, and X Wang, Advanced Electronic Materials (2016).

“Polymer-sandwiched ultra-thin silicon (100) layer for flexible electronics”, Y Zhang, SA Campbell, and L Zhang, Biomedical Engineering and Informatics (BMEI), 2015 8th International Conference on (2015).

“Properties of electrophoretically deposited single wall carbon nanotube films”, J Lim, M Jalali, and SA Campbell, Thin Solid Films (2015).

“Cu2ZnSnS4 thin film growth optimization and post rapid thermal annealing of solar cells and its influence on device performance”, L Zhang, S Karthikeyan, MJ Sibakoti, and SA Campbell, Photovoltaic Specialist Conference (PVSC), 2015 IEEE 42nd (2015).

Google Scholar Profile