Chair and Professorship Announcements for Nicola Elia, and Steven Koester

Prof. Nicola Elia has been appointed to the Vincentine Hermes-Luh Chair in Electrical Engineering, and Prof. Steve Koester has been appointed as Louis John Schnell Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering. Both positions are for a 5-year term and are effective July 1, 2019.

The Vincentine Hermes-Luh Chair was established in 1996 to recognize and retain outstanding faculty in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering to teach and research issues in the systems area. This includes specialties in controls, and dynamic systems including robotic automation, networks, signal processing, and communication systems. Faculty holding the Chair are responsible for conducting research with graduate and undergraduate systems, and other faculty to strengthen and initiate new developments in the systems area of research.

Key donor to the Vincentine Hermes-Luh Chair, Dr. Johnson Y.S. Luh, earned his doctoral degree in 1963 from the department.

The Louis John Schnell Professorship was established in 2000 by Selma Riggs, a representative of the Louis John Schnell Estate, to recognize and retain outstanding faculty teaching and carrying out research and teaching in the department.

Louis John Schnell was a 1932 graduate of the department.  

Learn more about Prof. Nicola Elia’s research here

Learn more about Prof. Steven Koester’s research here, here, and here