Prof. Beth Stadler is Appointed Associate Head of Department

Prof. Beth Stadler has begun her tenure as Associate Department Head. In this position, she will oversee course scheduling, teaching assignments, the department’s summer session, and requests for equipment. She will also be the department’s research safety officer. Prof. Stadler will be carrying out these duties in addition to her own teaching and research as […]

Open Faculty Positions

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities invites applications for faculty positions in: (1) Control systems (2) Power and energy systems The Control systems position invites applications at the assistant professor level and the Power and energy systems position invites applications at the assistant and associate level. […]

Alumnus Michael Roman Appointed COO of 3M

Alumnus Michael Roman has been appointed Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice-President of Maplewood, Minnesota-based multinational corporation, 3M. A 25-year veteran of the Minnesota-based company, Roman will report directly to the Chairman, President, and CEO Inge Thulin. The appointment was effective July 1, 2017. Roman earned his B.E.E. degree in the Department of Electrical and […]

ECE Alumnus is 2017 CSE Commencement Speaker

Grant Erickson, ECE alumnus, is the CSE Commencement speaker for 2017. He is a principal engineer at Nest Labs where he oversees the technical development of platform software designed to support Bluetooth Low Energy, Thread, WiFi, and Weave. He played an active role in the formation of the Thread Group and Thread networking protocol, and […]

ASYNC 2016 Best Paper Award

“Ring Oscillator Clocks and Margins,” a paper resulting from a collaboration between ECE faculty Prof. Sachin Sapatnekar and Prof. Jordi Cortadella’s group from the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC), has received the best paper award at the 22nd IEEE International Symposium on Asynchronous Circuits and Systems (ASYNC 2016). Modern chip technologies are susceptible to variations […]

Diamond Jubilee Fellowship for Prof. James Leger

Prof. James Leger has been awarded the prestigious Diamond Jubilee International Visiting Fellowship by the University of Southampton, UK.  The fellowship spans a three year period to support the development of a collaborative partnership between the fellow and their University of Southampton host staff member. Professor Leger’s research will concentrate on fiber lasers, ranging from […]

IEEE Fellow News

Alumnus Zhong Feng Wang now at Broadcom Corporation, has been elevated to IEEE Fellow for contributions to VLSI design and implementation of forward error correction coding. He earned his doctoral degree in 2000, under the guidance of Prof. Keshab Parhi. Prof. Stergios Roumeliotis has been elevated to IEEE Fellow for contributions to visual-inertial navigation and […]