Meghna Madhusudan and Susmita Dey Manasi Receive Cadence Technology Awards

Doctoral students Meghna Madhusudan  (advisor Professor Ramesh Harjani) and Susmita Dey Manasi (advisor Professor Sachin Sapatnekar) are recipients of Cadence’s Women in Technology scholarships for 2020-2021. These scholarships are awarded as part of Cadence’s mission to foster inclusion and diversity in technology programs and careers. MEGHNA’S RESEARCH Meghna’s research interest lies in electronic design automation […]

Prof. Keshab Parhi Named ACM Fellow

The Association for Computing Machinery has named Distinguished McKnight University Professor Keshab Parhi as one of its 2020 ACM Fellows for “contributions to architectures and design tools for signal processing and networking accelerators.” Professor Parhi is a leader in design techniques and tools that enable hardware accelerators for digital signal processing (DSP) and networking systems, […]

Photo of Professor Keshab Parhi
Photo of Professor Martina Cardone

Alumnus Tianyi Chen Receives IEEE SPS Best Dissertation Award

Alumnus Tianyi Chen is the inaugural recipient of IEEE Signal Processing Society’s (SPS) Best Dissertation Award. Chen, now a faculty member at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), earned his doctoral degree in 2019 under the supervision of Professor Georgios B. Giannakis. His dissertation is titled “Efficient Methods for Distributed Machine Learning and Resource Management in the […]

Photo of alumnus Dr. Tianyi Chen

Prof. Keshab Parhi to be Inducted Fellow of National Academy of Inventors

Distinguished McKnight University Professor Keshab K. Parhi has been elected as Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The NAI Fellows Selection Committee recognizes that he has “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and […]

ECE researchers report ultrastrong coupling of light and phonons within nanoscale coaxial cable

Opens up possibilities for developing new quantum-based devices A multi-institutional team of scientists led by ECE’s Professor Sang-Hyun Oh have reported vibrational ultrastrong coupling of light and matter within nanocavities at mid-infrared frequencies (MIR). The finding is particularly significant because it throws open a new frontier in cavity quantum electrodynamics (QED) that could enable quantum-based […]

Prof. David Lilja Receives BenchCouncil Achievement Award

Prof. David Lilja has been recognized with the BenchCouncil Achievement Award by the International Open Benchmark Council. The award recognizes a senior researcher for their long-term contributions to benchmarking, measuring, and optimizing computer performance. The award citation for Prof. Lilja reads, for contributions to “summarizing practical methods of measurement, simulation and analytical modeling,” “proposing MinneSPEC […]

Prof. Rhonda Franklin Shares Her Experiences Leading to Her ARCS Scientist of the Year Award

Prof. Rhonda Franklin has been named Scientist of the Year for 2020 by the ARCS Foundation Minnesota chapter. The award recognizes her work “mentoring and encouraging students to follow careers in science.” The honor is not surprising considering Prof. Franklin’s history of deep and sustained engagement with students and young professionals, helping them meet their […]

Image of Prof. Rhonda Franklin

Sandeep Avvaru’s Thesis Advances to Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools’ 2021 Distinguished Master’s Thesis Competition.

Doctoral candidate Sandeep Avvaru’s master’s thesis has been selected by the University’s Graduate School to advance to the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools’ (MAGS) Annual Distinguished Master’s Thesis competition. He will also be receiving an honorarium from the University of Minnesota. Sandeep’s thesis addresses privacy and security concerns related to electronic devices by shedding new insights […]

CSE 3MT Competition winners: Yali Zhang Places 1st, Aditya Dave is People’s Choice

Congratulations to Yali Zhang for placing first, and Aditya Dave for winning the people’s choice award at the CSE-level 3MT competition. The competition is open to doctoral students and the challenge is to present their research in 3 minutes in a compelling manner to a non-scientific audience. ECE students Yali and Aditya (both completing their […]