Alumnus Michael Roman Appointed CEO of 3M

Alumnus Michael Roman has been selected to be the next CEO of Minnesota-based multinational 3M. He will replace Inge Thulin starting July 1. Thulin will move into the newly created position of executive chairman of the company’s board, and continue working closely with Roman on 3M’s long term strategy. At 58, Roman has worked with […]

Prof. Mehmet Akçakaya Named 2018-20 McKnight Land-Grant Professor

Prof. Mehmet Akçakaya has been named McKnight Land-Grant Professor for his work on “Transforming Healthcare and Biomedical Sciences with Fast High-Precision Magnetic Resonance Imaging.” He is one of nine recipients of the McKnight Land-Grant Professorship Program for 2018-20. His research is inter-disciplinary in nature, and lies at the intersection of signal processing, computational imaging, machine […]

Prof. Giannakis Ranked Among Top Researchers Worldwide in Computer Science and Electronics

Prof. Georgios Giannakis from ECE is ranked 18 worldwide in the areas of computer science and electronics, and has an H-index of 123. The author of more than 380 journal articles and 650 refereed conference proceedings publications, he has over 58,000 citations. In addition, he has authored seven books and numerous book chapters. Prof. Giannakis has served as […]

Prof. Giannakis Awarded McKnight Presidential Endowed Chair

ECE faculty Prof. Georgios Giannakis has been honored with one of the University’s highest faculty awards, a McKnight Presidential Endowed Chair. The Presidential Endowed Chair acknowledges the critical contributions of University faculty to the missions of research, education, and public engagement. Prof. Giannakis who is also the director of the Digital Technology Center, is only […]

Congratulations to our 2016-17 Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship Winners

We have 6 DDF winners from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering for the 2016-17 year: Ali Ghoreyshi (advised by Prof. Randall Victora) Aritra Konar (advised by Prof. Nikos Sidiropoulos) Nazila Haratipour (advised by Prof. Steven Koester) Patrick Quarterman (advised by Prof. Jian-Ping Wang) Sayed Ahmad Salehi (advised by Prof. Keshab Parhi and Prof. […]

Prof. Doug Ernie Honored with Morse-Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Award

The University of Minnesota has honored Prof. Douglas Ernie with the Morse-Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Award. Each year since 1965, the University of Minnesota has recognized a select group of teachers for their outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. As a recipient of the Morse-Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Award, Prof. Ernie will become a member of the Academy of […]