Peter Christenson Awarded Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship for 2021-2022

Peter Christenson has been awarded the 2021-2022 Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship by the University of Minnesota Graduate School. Working under the guidance of Professor Sang-Hyun Oh whose own expertise lies in exploring the use of nanotechnology for biosensing, Christenson’s doctoral research is focused on the use of optics and plasmonics for the study of protein pathologies.  […]

Peter Christenson in lab

Yali Zhang Wins ARFTG Roger Pollard Student Fellowship in Microwave Measurement

Doctoral candidate Yali Zhang’s work on the study of copper (Cu) nanowires (NWs) for ultrathin via technology used in 3D integrated circuits (IC) was rated highly by the Automatic Radio Frequency Techniques Group (ARFTG) review panel. Her proposal titled, “Characterization of Copper Nanowire for Millimeter Wave and Submillimeter Wave Applications” was awarded the ARFTG Roger […]

Photograph of Professor Tony Low

Prof. Keshab Parhi to be Inducted Fellow of National Academy of Inventors

Distinguished McKnight University Professor Keshab K. Parhi has been elected as Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The NAI Fellows Selection Committee recognizes that he has “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and […]

ECE researchers report ultrastrong coupling of light and phonons within nanoscale coaxial cable

Opens up possibilities for developing new quantum-based devices A multi-institutional team of scientists led by ECE’s Professor Sang-Hyun Oh have reported vibrational ultrastrong coupling of light and matter within nanocavities at mid-infrared frequencies (MIR). The finding is particularly significant because it throws open a new frontier in cavity quantum electrodynamics (QED) that could enable quantum-based […]

Prof. Rhonda Franklin Shares Her Experiences Leading to Her ARCS Scientist of the Year Award

Prof. Rhonda Franklin has been named Scientist of the Year for 2020 by the ARCS Foundation Minnesota chapter. The award recognizes her work “mentoring and encouraging students to follow careers in science.” The honor is not surprising considering Prof. Franklin’s history of deep and sustained engagement with students and young professionals, helping them meet their […]

Image of Prof. Rhonda Franklin

CSE 3MT Competition winners: Yali Zhang Places 1st, Aditya Dave is People’s Choice

Congratulations to Yali Zhang for placing first, and Aditya Dave for winning the people’s choice award at the CSE-level 3MT competition. The competition is open to doctoral students and the challenge is to present their research in 3 minutes in a compelling manner to a non-scientific audience. ECE students Yali and Aditya (both completing their […]

Prof. David Orser Receives Penrose Teaching Award

Teaching professor David Orser is the latest recipient of the Penrose teaching award. The award is a timely recognition of the energy and engagement with which Orser has approached his responsibilities that include lab and experiential learning curriculum development, and training for teaching assistants, in addition to teaching his regular load of classes.  Orser’s teaching and […]

Image of Prof. David Orser standing in a hallway

Interdisciplinary Team Reports Extremely High Resonant Frequency in Cobalt-Palladium Multilayers

Finding Has Significant Technological Applications Scientists at the University of Minnesota have reported direct observation of magnon-phonon coupling in time and frequency domains under femtosecond laser excitation. Based on their observations, the team have also proposed a theoretical model explaining the physical mechanism underlying this strain-spin interaction. The results of their work are reported in […]