Photograph of Professor Tony Low

Meghna Madhusudan, Susmita Dey Manasi, and Wen Zhou Receive Cadence Technology Awards

Doctoral students Meghna Madhusudan  (advisor Professor Ramesh Harjani), Susmita Dey Manasi (advisor Professor Sachin Sapatnekar), and Wen Zhou (advisor Professor Yahya Tousi) are recipients of Cadence’s Women in Technology scholarships for 2020-2021. These scholarships are awarded as part of Cadence’s mission to foster inclusion and diversity in technology programs and careers. MEGHNA’S RESEARCH Meghna’s research […]

Photo of alumnus Dr. Yingjie Lao

Prof. Keshab Parhi Named ACM Fellow

The Association for Computing Machinery has named Distinguished McKnight University Professor Keshab Parhi as one of its 2020 ACM Fellows for “contributions to architectures and design tools for signal processing and networking accelerators.” Professor Parhi is a leader in design techniques and tools that enable hardware accelerators for digital signal processing (DSP) and networking systems, […]

Photo of Professor Keshab Parhi

Prof. Keshab Parhi to be Inducted Fellow of National Academy of Inventors

Distinguished McKnight University Professor Keshab K. Parhi has been elected as Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The NAI Fellows Selection Committee recognizes that he has “demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and […]

Prof. David Lilja Receives BenchCouncil Achievement Award

Prof. David Lilja has been recognized with the BenchCouncil Achievement Award by the International Open Benchmark Council. The award recognizes a senior researcher for their long-term contributions to benchmarking, measuring, and optimizing computer performance. The award citation for Prof. Lilja reads, for contributions to “summarizing practical methods of measurement, simulation and analytical modeling,” “proposing MinneSPEC […]

Prof. Rhonda Franklin Shares Her Experiences Leading to Her ARCS Scientist of the Year Award

Prof. Rhonda Franklin has been named Scientist of the Year for 2020 by the ARCS Foundation Minnesota chapter. The award recognizes her work “mentoring and encouraging students to follow careers in science.” The honor is not surprising considering Prof. Franklin’s history of deep and sustained engagement with students and young professionals, helping them meet their […]

Image of Prof. Rhonda Franklin

Sandeep Avvaru’s Thesis Advances to Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools’ 2021 Distinguished Master’s Thesis Competition.

Doctoral candidate Sandeep Avvaru’s master’s thesis has been selected by the University’s Graduate School to advance to the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools’ (MAGS) Annual Distinguished Master’s Thesis competition. He will also be receiving an honorarium from the University of Minnesota. Sandeep’s thesis addresses privacy and security concerns related to electronic devices by shedding new insights […]

CSE 3MT Competition winners: Yali Zhang Places 1st, Aditya Dave is People’s Choice

Congratulations to Yali Zhang for placing first, and Aditya Dave for winning the people’s choice award at the CSE-level 3MT competition. The competition is open to doctoral students and the challenge is to present their research in 3 minutes in a compelling manner to a non-scientific audience. ECE students Yali and Aditya (both completing their […]